Courtesy of Neil Whaley, who owns a copy of ‘everything Stanley Park’ by way of Bill Jeffries:


1911 map


Click on the map to enlarge – and then explore.  (Current map here.) This is before the building of the Causeway that separated Lost Lagoon and Coal Harbour ((not to mention Brockton Point from the south side of the park).  No Second Beach Pool, no Tea House at Ferguson Point, no totem poles.  But there was a zoo, deer park and reservoir.

Especially, there was no seawall.  That wouldn’t start construction until 1917.

Imagine the reaction if someone suggested in 2013 that we dump eight kilometres of rock, concrete and asphalt atop a natural shoreline in our most valued park.  Not a chance that the seawall would be built today.